TowerCensus

Antenna structures in Shannon County, South Dakota

At a glance

Shannon County, South Dakota has 14 FCC-registered antenna structures, 11 of them marked constructed. That is the 32nd-largest count among the 66 South Dakota counties with registrations, and 1.1% of the state's 1,289. The tallest constructed structure in the county is registration 1219820 near Fairburn at 152 m (498 ft).

Dataset updated . Refreshed from the FCC ASR weekly bulk database.

Registered structures
14
Constructed
11
Avg height
106 m
Tallest standing
152 m

How does Shannon County compare with the rest of South Dakota?

With 14 registrations, Shannon County ranks 32nd of 66 counties in South Dakota; Minnehaha County leads the state with 116. The average registered overall height here is 106 m, about 26% above the South Dakota average of 84 m. The tallest standing structure, at 152 m, is about 43% above the county average.

What kinds of structures are registered in Shannon County?

The most common filed structure type in Shannon County is guyed tower (code GTOWER), with 6 registrations (42.9%). It is followed by tower (5) and lattice tower (2). In all, 4 different FCC structure-type codes appear in the county.

By registration status: 11 constructed and 3 granted (not yet constructed). Only constructed registrations describe structures the registry treats as standing; canceled, dismantled and terminated records stay listed as history.

Who owns the towers in Shannon County?

AT&T Mobility Spectrum LLC holds the most registrations in Shannon County, with 7 of the 14. The next largest are Crown Castle Towers 09 (2) and CCATT LLC (1). 3 owners with two or more registrations nationwide hold structures in the county.

Which places in Shannon County have registered structures?

Registrations in Shannon County list 7 different city or place names. The most frequent are Pine Ridge (4), Batesland (3), Fairburn (2), Manderson (2) and Oglala (1).

Every registration

All 14 structures in Shannon County, tallest first

#StructureHeightTypeStatus
1Fairburn · 1219820152 mGuyed towerConstructed
2Batesland · 1219104148 mTower (type not specified)Constructed
3Batesland · 1240990147 mTower (type not specified)Constructed
4Fairburn · 1315361123 mGuyed towerConstructed
5Manderson · 1315778123 mGuyed towerConstructed
6Oglala · 1315404123 mGuyed towerConstructed
7Kyle · 1242376105 mGuyed towerConstructed
8Wounded Knee · 1042503100 mTower (type not specified)Constructed
9Pine Ridge · 120290798 mTower (type not specified)Granted (not yet constructed)
10Manderson · 126631594 mLattice towerConstructed
11Batesland · 126613293 mLattice towerConstructed
12Pine Ridge · 120381377 mGuyed towerConstructed
13Pine Ridge · 128121367 mTower (type not specified)Granted (not yet constructed)
14Pine Ridge · 120297633 mBuildingGranted (not yet constructed)

Frequently asked questions

How many cell towers are in Shannon County, SD?

The FCC Antenna Structure Registration database lists 14 registered antenna structures in Shannon County, South Dakota, 11 of them constructed. Registration is generally required only for structures taller than about 60 m or near airports, so shorter cell sites may not appear.

What is the tallest tower in Shannon County?

The tallest constructed registered structure in Shannon County is registration 1219820, a guyed tower near Fairburn at 152 m (498 ft) overall height.

Who owns the most towers in Shannon County?

AT&T Mobility Spectrum LLC holds the most registrations in Shannon County (7), followed by Crown Castle Towers 09 (2).

What kind of towers are in Shannon County?

Guyed tower is the most common filed type (6 of 14 registrations), then tower (5).

More in South Dakota

About this data

Source: FCC Antenna Structure Registration (ASR) database, as published October 20, 2026 — TowerCensus refreshes it weekly. See the methodology for how records are matched, cleaned and scored.

Cite as: TowerCensus, “Antenna structures in Shannon County, South Dakota”, https://towercensus.com/towers/south-dakota/county/shannon-county (data as of October 20, 2026).