Antenna structures in Edmunds County, South Dakota
At a glance
Edmunds County, South Dakota has 12 FCC-registered antenna structures, 7 of them marked constructed. That is the 45th-largest count among the 66 South Dakota counties with registrations, and 0.93% of the state's 1,289. The tallest constructed structure in the county is registration 1276127 near Bowdle at 105 m (345 ft).
Dataset updated . Refreshed from the FCC ASR weekly bulk database.
How does Edmunds County compare with the rest of South Dakota?
With 12 registrations, Edmunds County ranks 45th of 66 counties in South Dakota; Minnehaha County leads the state with 116. The average registered overall height here is 92 m, roughly in line with the South Dakota average of 84 m. The tallest standing structure, at 105 m, is about 15% above the county average.
What kinds of structures are registered in Edmunds County?
The most common filed structure type in Edmunds County is tower (code TOWER), with 8 registrations (66.7%). It is followed by guyed tower (3) and pole (1).
By registration status: 7 constructed, 3 dismantled, 1 granted (not yet constructed) and 1 terminated. Only constructed registrations describe structures the registry treats as standing; canceled, dismantled and terminated records stay listed as history.
Who owns the towers in Edmunds County?
BIT/State Radio Communications Engineering holds the most registrations in Edmunds County, with 3 of the 12. The next largest are CommNet Cellular Inc. (2), Qwest Corporation (2) and EAST RIVER ELECTRIC POWER COOPERATIVE INC (1). 7 owners with two or more registrations nationwide hold structures in the county.
Which places in Edmunds County have registered structures?
Registrations in Edmunds County list 7 different city or place names. The most frequent are Bowdle (4), Ipswich (2), Roscoe (2), Mina (1) and Ipswitch (1).
Every registration
All 12 structures in Edmunds County, tallest first
| # | Structure | Height | Type | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Mina · 1252402 | 152 m | Tower (type not specified) | Granted (not yet constructed) |
| 2 | Ipswich · 1042385 | 109 m | Tower (type not specified) | Dismantled |
| 3 | Bowdle · 1276127 | 105 m | Guyed tower | Constructed |
| 4 | Ipswich · 1041104 | 102 m | Guyed tower | Constructed |
| 5 | Bowdle · 1041090 | 102 m | Tower (type not specified) | Dismantled |
| 6 | Roscoe · 1058971 | 99 m | Guyed tower | Constructed |
| 7 | Ipswitch · 1260132 | 95 m | Tower (type not specified) | Constructed |
| 8 | Roscoe · 1040237 | 94 m | Tower (type not specified) | Constructed |
| 9 | Aberdeen · 1037200 | 91 m | Tower (type not specified) | Constructed |
| 10 | Bowdle · 1042384 | 85 m | Tower (type not specified) | Dismantled |
| 11 | Mina Lake · 1266196 | 47 m | Tower (type not specified) | Terminated |
| 12 | Bowdle · 1201527 | 21 m | Pole | Constructed |
Frequently asked questions
How many cell towers are in Edmunds County, SD?
The FCC Antenna Structure Registration database lists 12 registered antenna structures in Edmunds County, South Dakota, 7 of them constructed. Registration is generally required only for structures taller than about 60 m or near airports, so shorter cell sites may not appear.
What is the tallest tower in Edmunds County?
The tallest constructed registered structure in Edmunds County is registration 1276127, a guyed tower near Bowdle at 105 m (345 ft) overall height.
Who owns the most towers in Edmunds County?
BIT/State Radio Communications Engineering holds the most registrations in Edmunds County (3), followed by CommNet Cellular Inc. (2).
What kind of towers are in Edmunds County?
Tower (type not specified) is the most common filed type (8 of 12 registrations), then guyed tower (3).
More in South Dakota
About this data
Source: FCC Antenna Structure Registration (ASR) database, as published October 20, 2026 — TowerCensus refreshes it weekly. See the methodology for how records are matched, cleaned and scored.
Cite as: TowerCensus, “Antenna structures in Edmunds County, South Dakota”, https://towercensus.com/towers/south-dakota/county/edmunds-county (data as of October 20, 2026).